Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: craven714 Date: Jun 23, 2009 6:53am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

I dont have time to waste on criticizing your "reviews".
But I am asking you kindly to fucking knock it off. This kind of shit is totally unnecessary, annoying,
does NOT pass as a review, and could get this sight shut down:

Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah - - June 23, 2009
Subject: The GRATEFUL DEAD "Live On Stage" June 23, 1974 at Jai Alai Fronton, Miami, FL, U.S.A.
`

~^|\_@|@_/|^~
~<->/<->\<->~

Super 74' Soundboard.

Thirty five years ago today the GRATEFUL DEAD were playing in Miami, where were you?

Here's one way to download this show:

The IA recommends users of Windows XP view ......
(the part that could get this site shut down....ass)

!wow---> 'Matrix' Soundboard/Audience Mix <---wow!

This is the "Best Sounding" copy of this show on the IA!

Chris Chappell is an artist, it's an Audio Masterpiece!

These "Matrix" shows really are more "livelier" and "dimensional" than a plain soundboard.

I think they sound better than a plain board, they sound more like a "live show"; it's really very enjoyable, nice job.

A fine balance of the energy of the crowd mixed with the clarity of a soundboard. Combined like a Cocktail that puts you in the mood with one shot.

The Dragon eating its tail sonically speaking.

The GRATEFUL DEAD playing to the audience, the audience responding to the GRATEFUL DEAD.

I highly recommend adding this show to your 1974 GRATEFUL DEAD collection.

Eat, Drink, Be Merry and Listen to the GRATEFUL DEAD.

Thanks for the LOVE from 1974.

PS: It's pure genius mixing sound board and audience tapes, keep up the good work, we are proud of you guys. I love that 'Matrix Sound'.





This post was modified by craven714 on 2009-06-23 13:53:16

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bbrew2 Date: Jun 23, 2009 9:29am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

I agree Craven. Thanks for bringing this up. I wish this person would stop the extranius info. I find myself a bit pissed off when I see one of those reviews. If you see this oh uh um ah cease and desist please.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Jun 23, 2009 6:55am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Speaking of "oh...um...", do we really need another post regarding recording streams? I'm pretty sure we've covered this one a few thousand times.

Well, I guess it is now 1,000 + 1.

Yay.

Do us all a favor and at least take out that part of the post, I thank you on behalf of the great unwashed.


Oh, that's all of you, by the way.

This post was modified by SomeDarkHollow on 2009-06-23 13:55:33

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Earl B. Powell Date: Jun 23, 2009 8:38am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

I read one of his reviews whilst dining on Moon Pie and found it to be...er..ah...um...typical brain damaged stream of consciousness Dead banter. Except for that part about recording the you know whats. Shhh. Keep that secret to yourself or might get the oh...um...er..double secret probation. When it comes to el-stupido, that fella's um....oh...er..bonafide.

Sorry boys, but got to r-u-n-n-o-f-t

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Jun 23, 2009 12:07pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

My daddy got run over by a train.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: robthewordsmith Date: Jun 23, 2009 1:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

I hope I die peacefully in my sleep like my dad - not screaming in terror like his passengers ...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Jun 23, 2009 3:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Or his kid...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Earl B. Powell Date: Jun 23, 2009 2:27pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

You're killing me. Really.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: buck78 Date: Jun 23, 2009 7:00pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Thanks for the love from this Grateful Dead forum

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: johnnyonthespot Date: Jun 23, 2009 8:57am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

good job calling this out although why the hell would anyone go through the hassle of having to jump through all the hoops then using editing sw to break up the tracks all for an mp3 recording? Even if someone obviously doesn't respect the bands wishes and realize how good we all have it, still why go through the hassle? Besides, there's so much out there we are all spoiled. Those of us who remember waiting for a snail mail trade never knowing how good the quality would end up being should remember this.

You know what I find almost equally rude? Everytime the band releases something sure enough the complete show shows up as a fileshare someplace. Is this nescessary? Timing wise? If you don't think they can put the smackdown on bit torrents try finding anything by Jorma/Hot Tuna. ANYTHING. Even stuff that was recorded when they were cool with taping ( which I think is over kill on Jorma's part considering he has next to nothing vintage on their download site, it's all 90's and up except for one show ).

end rant

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: craven714 Date: Jun 23, 2009 10:57am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Ok, now I have time for a proper response:

I dont mean to come off as a complete asshole (even though
I am), but there is a huge difference between freedom of
speech and getting this site shut down. I'm all for the
former, not so much for the latter. And I usually dont get
upset with dumass reviews. I've learned that just NOT
reading them keeps my blood pressure level. So oh, uh, um,
whatevertheshit... do what you want...I've known for years that there are dumbasses in this world (hell, Ive been one
from time to time)....but PLEASE DONT risk the sanctity of
this beloved site. Thats all Im trying to say.

And anyone feel free to dog me able the hand full of dumb
assed reviews that have my name attatched to them. None
of my 'reviews' have a stars; I dont deserve to rate a
show as far as Im concerned. They are all 10 stars to me.

I stopped reviewing because:

1) its self-centered tripe

2) I find myself telling people stuff they already know, or
should know already

3) not agreeing with a previous review, which is the
definition of stupidity (i.e.~ (6/22/74s review: Reviewer: craven714 - August 2, 2007
Subject: one of these things are not like the other...
One of these things just dont belong....
Hey Rusty Trombone: Considering this is your first and only Dead review, why dont you stick to your Lotus,Bros. Past, and Spoon reviews. Leave the Dead reviews to the people who understand, appreciate and love the music.
Actually I would love to read your review of the Deads performance the NEXT night; one of the Deads best performances. See if you think they sound bored. If they do to you, I have one suggestion: cut off your ears and light yourself on fire and do it today. Peacefully submitted...)
What great review, huh? Damn, am I an ASS!


4) I cant add anything to the music that is already there

5) Reading proper reviews from Earl, SDH, He Lives, Evan
Hunt, stratocaster, Cliff, Ashes, CPW, Dr. Flashback,
(J-Boy HA!!), I realize mine are total crap.
(Apologies to anyone I forgot who posts a proper review)

I will get off the soap box now. I think I got upset
because I feel that a 'reviewer' defamed one of my top 5
Grateful Dead shows ever, and placed this place in jeopardy. Now, back to the fun!!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Jun 23, 2009 9:05am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

concur with all above...

One question: what does the little symbol doohickey (with the "@") depict? Is something I should know? Female related? Otherwise?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: jglynn1.2 Date: Jun 23, 2009 6:50am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Thanks Craven - I recommend that you xxxx out the critical info in your cut and paste of o um ah's idiotic review.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: craven714 Date: Jun 23, 2009 6:55am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

thx jg, you are absolutely correct...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bbrew2 Date: Jun 23, 2009 9:43am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Thanks jg for your effort

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Styrofoam Cueball Date: Jun 23, 2009 8:57am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah = brain freeze

This guy has written dozens of reviews, all exactly alike. Luckily, the SHOWS aren't alike. Waste of space....

This post was modified by Styrofoam Cueball on 2009-06-23 15:57:40

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: jglynn1.2 Date: Jun 23, 2009 7:15am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

P.S.

If you really need a copy, look no further than the legendary Jerry Moore and Rob Berger

http://www.archive.org/details/gd1974-06-23.aud.moore.berger.84615.flac16

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: skuzzlebutt Date: Jun 23, 2009 7:19am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Amen- still the definitive document of this classic show.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: GennyBenni Date: Jun 23, 2009 7:00am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

There ought to be a way to report to the folks who run the archive when people post reviews like this. I'm sure they would agree to take it down if they knew about, or at least cut out the compromising parts.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: jglynn1.2 Date: Jun 23, 2009 7:12am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

I just sent an e-mail to Tracey - she has been helpful in the past. Diana H could also probably help but I don't have her e-mail

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: rastamon Date: Jun 23, 2009 12:46pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

Diane's email is hamilton@umbc.edu

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: ducats Date: Jun 23, 2009 4:08pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Reviewer: oh_uh_um_ah

isn't Diana the one that scolded me for telling assholes to blow me!?

Terms of Use (10 Mar 2001)